featuring LUNASA

This excellent 2-CD set is the result of a residency program organized by the Leitrim County Council to promote the music of the county, and especially to encourage the composition of new tunes in traditional form. The band Lunasa was selected for the first residency and eventually shared in the recording of this album with twenty-eight Leitrim musicians, among whom some prominent members of the Leitrim music scene like Ben, Charlie, and Maurice Lennon, Dervish fiddler Tom Morrow and flute player Liam Kelly, members of the McNamara family, and singers like Eleanor Shanley and Mary McPartlan. Among the 21 tracks, only one is performed by Lunasa alone, while members of the band appear on other tracks together with some of the Leitrim musicians. Five tracks feature nine new compositions which were created in collaboration with members of the band. The music is uniformly very good, and the variety of ensembles and instrumental combinations recorded makes for a thoroughly enjoyable collection.

Rating: ****

Price: $32.99
Our Catalogue 
email me
CD 1
1. Jig & Reels: John McKenna's Jig / The Cloone Reel / The Hollybush
2. Reels: The Concert Reel / Joe Burke's Favourite
3. Song: My Own Leitrim Home
4. Hornpipe: Master Shanley's Hornpipe
5. Reels: Couthouse Reel / Dave Donohoe's
6. Reels: O'Connell's Reel / The Edenderry / Maggie on the Shore
7. Jig & Quickstep: The Battering Ram / The Leitrim Quickstep
8. Hornpipe: THe Himalayan Hornpipe
9. Reels: Maud Millar / Palmer's Gate / Lord McDonald
10. Jigs: Andrew Davey's / Moloney's Wife
11. Reels: Handsome Sally / Sunny Banks / Reel of Rio

CD 2
1. Reels: The Lahard Chase / In Walked Dalai / Hamy's Reel
2. The Stig Jig
3. Song: Generous Lover
4. Reels: The Leitrim Lilter / The Twelve Pins
5. Hornpipes: Caislean an Oir / Pol Ha'penny
6. Reels: Road to Garrison / Kilty Town
7. Jigs: The Mighty Ros / Susan Sweeney's Jig
8. Reels: Maguire's Welcome to Fermanagh
9. Reels: Sean Ryan's / Reel of Rio
10. Jigs: Trip to Athlone / Humours of Lisheen / Snug in a Blanket
See also:
       Lunasa (first CD)
       The Kinnitty Sessions
       Cillian Vallely & Kevin Crawford: On Common Ground