Micheal O'Raghallaigh: concertina
Michael Rooney: harp
Eoghan O'Brien: guitar
Frank McGann: bodhran

A resident of Co. Meath, and the concertina player with the band Providence, Micheal O'Raghallaigh has recorded a gorgeous solo CD, with understated but effective accompaniments on harp, guitar, and bodhran. Micheal's concertina playing achieves a great balance of traditional sound and personal expression, without going the way of machine-gun-fire, button-rattling ornaments heard from some players these days. The same balance is found in his choice of repertoire, with some great classics and some lesser known gems, including Paddy O'Brien's composition after which the album was named. Brilliant, as they say in Ireland!

Rating: **** 1/2

Price: $24.99Recommended
Our Catalogue 
email me
See also:
   Inside Out
   Catherine McEvoy, Caoimhin O'Raghallaigh, Micheal                                O'Raghallaigh: Comb Your Hair & Curl It
    Providence: A Fig for a Kiss
1. Jigs: Quilty Shore / Grogan's / Kitty's Rambles
2. Reels: Stoney Steps / Hut in the Bog / Merry Days of Easter
3. Air: Lone Shanakyle
4. Jigs: Sport / Hawthorn Hedge
5. Reels: Geoghegan's / McDonagh's / College Groves
6. Reels: Dogs Among the Bushes / Barrowburn Reel / Wynne's No. 3 / Sonny's Return
7. Hornpipes: Blackbird / Flowers of Edinburgh / Mrs. Galvin's
8. Air: An Buachaill Caol Dubh
9. Reels: George White's Favourite / Copper Plate / Beara Reel
10. Reels: Maghera Mountain / Brian Quinn's / Tommy Coen's / My Mary-Anne / The Nervous Man
11. Jigs: John Mahony's / Willie Coleman's / Tonra's
12. Reels: Duke of Leinster / Old Bush / Spike Island Lasses