Damian O'Brien: fiddle
Oliver Loughlin: piano-accordion
Arty McGlynn: guitar
Kevin Brehony: piano
James Blennerhassett: double bass

O'Brien and Loughlin are two talented young musicians from Co. Leitrim who previously recorded, as the band Siona (with June McCormack on flute), a lovely album entitled "Launching the Boat" (1997). This new recording is further proof that the two players have taste and musical maturity beyond their age, and that traditional music is in good hands with a whole new generation of musicians like them. Loughlin's piano-accordion playing is especially noteworthy, as one can be easily fooled into thinking it's a button box being played. The tunes, which include compositions of Leitrim's own Joe Liddy, as well as some by Paddy O'Brien, Sean Ryan, Paddy Fahy, John Brady, and the Dwyers, are well chosen and combined into interesting sets. Kevin Brehony, who also played with Siona, and the great Arty McGlynn provide nicely understated accompaniments which suit the music perfectly. A wonderful album. (December 2007)

Rating: ****

Price: $24.99
Our Catalogue 
email me
1. Reels: The Musical Priest / Gan Ainm / Paddy Fahey's
2. Jigs: The Gallowglass / Come in to the Town My Fair Lady / The 9th of July
3. Reels: Kitty Gone a-Milking / The Factory Turn / The Smiling Lady
4. Jigs: The Old Grey Goose / The Black  Rose of Beara
5. Hornpipes: Lough Gill / The Locomotive
6. Reels: The Maid in the Cherry Tree / The Scolding Wife
7. Jigs: Pat McKenna's / The Second Victory
8. Waltz: The Cherry Blossom Waltz
9. Reels: The Wheels of the World / Rakish Paddy / Miss McDonald's
10. Jigs: Knocknagow / The Wheels of the World / Seamus Connolly's
11. Reels: Gan Ainm / Berehaven / John Brady's
12. Set Dance & Reel: The Princess Royal / Acre's Gate
13. Reels: The Nervous Man / The Bubbling Wine / The Crooked Road to Dublin
See also:
Siona: Launching the Boat