The new North Cregg album follows basically the same formula used for their first release: energetic accordion-driven instrumental work with a bit of a Southwestern flavor, and a mix of contemporary and traditional songs. Except that, this time, the songs, which include the classic "Lord Franklin" as well as Steve Tilston's "Slip Jigs and Reels," fit much better stylistically with the instrumental portion of the album. The latter, because of the use of the snare drum and the occasional appearance of a clarinet, gives the band a flavor reminiscent of Sharon Shannon's early albums. It's great fun to listen to, even if not exactly for the purists.

Rating: *** 1/2

Price: $17.99
Our Catalogue 
email me
See also:
   And They Danced All Night
   Summer at my Feet
1. Polkas: The Three Wan's
2. Reels: The Boyne Hunt
3. Song: Slip Jigs and Reels
4. Slides: The F.T. Set
5. Reels: Big Al's
6. Song: Farewell to the Gold
7. Polkas: The Race Classic
8. Song: Young Jack Tanner
9. Hornpipes for Four Hands
10. Jigs: The Geese in the Bog
11. Song: Lord Franklin
12. Hornpipe & Reels: The Rolling Hills of Maryland