Just on the heels of the great "Redwood," Lunasa is at it again. This time, they wanted to record an album that would be close to the concert experience, so this was done primarily live at the reputedly haunted Kinnitty Castle in Co. Offaly--and "refined" in studio. The band's musicianship is, as always, extraordinary, on the amazingly tight group numbers as well as on the solo tracks by Crawford, Smyth, and Vallely--including a superb "Wounded Hussar" by the latter. Some of the medleys have been recorded before, but the arrangements continue to evolve and it's great fun to re-discover them. If you like your traditional music with a bit of rock 'n' roll in the tradition of the Bothy Band, this one belongs in your collection.

Rating: ****

Price: $16.99
Our Catalogue 
email me
1. Stolen Purse
2. Ballyogan
3. Punch
4. The Dimmers
5. Island Paddy
6. Sean in the Fog
7. Bulgarian Rock
8. Air: The Wounded Hussar
9. The Walrus
10. Maids in the Kitchen
11. Tie the Bonnet
See also:
        Lunasa: Lunasa (first CD)
        Lunasa: Redwood
        Cillian Vallely & Kevin Crawford: On Common Ground
        Various: The Leitrim Equation