Cathal Hayden: fiddle, banjo
Donal Murphy: accordion
Arty McGlynn: guitar
Brian McGrath: keyboards, banjo
Liam Bradley: percussion
Seamus Begley: vocals

Former Four-Men-and-a-Dog fiddle and banjo player Cathal Hayden has released his second solo album--it was just announced that the first one also made it to CD, but his fiddle playing has improved quite a bit since that first recording.  If you are familiar with his band work, you won't be surprised to hear that there's quite a bit of fast and furious stuff here. The tracks that sound best to me are the ones where Hayden plays both fiddle and banjo. Excellent accompaniments by Arty McGlynn (guitar) and Brian McGrath (keyboards). Hayden plays some well known tunes as well as some lesser known gems by Brendan McGlinchey and Liz Carroll. John Carty's G Dorian jig "Seanamhach Tubestation"--appropriately a banjo solo--is a lovely tune which I hadn't heard before. Good album.

Rating: ****

Price: $24.99                      Recommended
Our Catalogue 
email me
See also:
    Four Men and a Dog: Wallop the Spot
1. Reels: Goodbye to Ireland / McKillop's
2. Reels: The Boys of Ballisodare / Unknown / Lord McDonald's
3. Jigs: The Bloomin' Meadows / The Connachtman's Rambles
4. Reels: The Donegal Tinker / The Dublin Reel
5. Reels: Splendid Isolation / Mrs. Lawries
6. Jig: Seanamhach Tubestation
7. Reels: Master McDermott's / The Tailor's Fancy
8. Reels: Liz Carroll's
9. Song: The Mountains of Pomeroy
10. Slides: Mickey O'Callaghan 's / Dan Cronin's / Johnny O'Leary's
11. Hornpipe & Reel: The Homeruler / Maud Miller's
12. Reels: Paddy Cronin's / The Galtee Ranger
13. Reels: Sean Ryan's / The Fisherman's Island / Lomanach