Kieran Hanrahan: banjo
Sonny Murray: concertina
Mike Hanrahan: guitar
Tommy Hayes: bodhran, percussion
Peter Keenan: keyboards

The title of Hanrahan's CD is appropriate, for this album almost sounds like an instructional recording. Most of the tunes are very well known, everything is played at a relaxed tempo, almost on the slow side, as if to demonstrate all proper techniques of Irish banjo playing. But this is not meant as a criticism, Hanrahan (of Stockton's Wing and Templehouse Ceili Band fame) is a masterful player, his settings and performance are flawless and virtuosic, yet tastefully restrained throughout. And, with the understated participation of Sonny Murray (concertina), Mike Hanrahan (guitar), and Tommy Hayes (bodhrán and percussion), it all makes for a very enjoyable album. Still, this could well become for plectrum users the one CD they'll play over and over, much like Matt Molloy's first solo LP was for flute players or Paddy Glackin's for fiddlers. 

Rating: ****

Price: $24.99Recommended
Our Catalogue 
email me
1. Reels: Kitty Gone a Milking / Music in the Glen
2. Reels: Maids of Castlebar / Tommy Coen's / Wise Maid
3. Jigs: The Humours of Ennistymon / Joe Cooley's
4. Reels: The Coalminer / The Galway Rambler
5. Hornpipes: The Galway Hornpipe / The Golden Eagle
6. Reels: The Mason's Apron
7. Waltz: Tommy Bhetty's Waltz
8. Reels: Crowley's Reels
9. Jigs: The Queen of the Fair / The Tongs by the Fire
10. Reels: The Girl That Broke my Heart
11. Reels: The Cup of Tea / Cregg's Pipes / The Congress
12. Hornpipes: Cross the Fence / The Tailor's Twist
13. Reels: Colonel Frazier / The Salamanca
14. Reels: The Glen of Aherlow / Sonny's Return / Jenny's Wedding
See also:
    Stockton's Wing
     Stockton's Wing: Take a Chance