Frankie Gavin: fiddle, flute
Aidan Coffey: accordion
Arty McGlynn: guitar

Recorded during a concert given in Paris in 1991 (first released in 1994), this is an outrageously good live album by De Dannan fiddle player Frankie Gavin, with band member Aidan Coffey on box and the masterful Arty McGlynn (ex Patrick Street) backing them up on guitar. The hilarious spoken introduction ( to a French-speaking audience) by Gavin is followed by blast after blast of jigs and reels played with seemingly wild abandon, yet perfect form, Gavin spinning out his trademark variations at every turn. Don't be surprised if your CD player starts smoking... By the way, the French screwed up the playlist on the booklet, but I corrected it for you.

Rating: **** 1/2

Price: $27.99           Recommended
Our Catalogue 
email me
1. Introduction
2. Reels: Stony Steps / Bloom of Youth
3. Hornpipes: The Showman's Fancy / Thomond Bridge
4. Jigs: Rose in the Heather / The Rambler / The Drimneen Jig
5. Reels: The Maid if Tullyknockbrine / Dinkey's Reel
6. O'Carolan's Draught
7. Polkas
8. Reels: Gan Ainm / The Templehouse / The Foxhunter's
9. Reels: The Mountain Road / Old Concertina Reel
10. Jigs: Cailleach an Airgead / Connaughtman's Rambles / Out on the Ocean
11. Air: The Cuckoo without her Nest
12. Reels: John Egan's Reel / Gorman's Reel
13. Waltzes: The Stone Outside Dan Murphy's Door / A Mother's Love is a Blessing
14. Jigs: The Monk's Jig / Old John's Jig / The Hag at the Churn
15. Reels: Banks of the Ilen / Tom Billy's / The Virginia
16. Reels: Martin Mulvihill's / The Dublin Porter
17. Hornpipe & Reel: The Derry Hornpipe / The Cill Abhail
See also:
       Frankie Gavin & Paul Brock: Tribute to Joe Cooley
         Joe Derrane & Frankie Gavin: Ireland's Harvest
         Frankie Gavin: Fierce Traditional
         Shannon, Gavin, McGoldrick, Murray: Tunes
Seamus Creagh & Aidan Coffey